BIO
Kerri Lukasavitz
​Welcome!

I am delighted to share a little bit about my life. I was born in, and have lived in, Southeastern Wisconsin most of my life. I grew up in a rural setting with dairy farms, hills, and trees. Our neighbors knew each other and created a close community.

I have been passionate about horses since I was a child. In addition to owning my first two ponies and showing in 4H, I pursued a professional life as a show groom, rider, and riding teacher for two hunter/jumper show barns in my late teens and early 20s.

I left the horse life and went to college to initially study Illustration/Drawing (with the intention of writing and illustrating children's books) and then Interior Architecture & Design from Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design where I earned a Bachelor of Fine Arts.

I have been an Interior Designer for 17 years but heard the call to write a few years ago. After wrestling with the idea of going back to school, I applied to and was accepted into Mount Mary College's (now University) graduate program. I earned a Master of Arts in English, which was a concentrated track in Creative Writing and Literature.

I thought I would be a reporter and study journalism/creative nonfiction when I first started because I loved people's stories, but I was pulled toward the novel workshops, including classes on writing for middle grade and young adult readers.


 
I started Mystery Horse at Oak Lane Stable as an assignment for one of my first novel workshops. Little did I know that I would continue to work on throughout school, use it as my thesis project, and then finish it after I had graduated. It took hard work and dedication, but I was determined to publish the book and share the story with other young horse enthusiasts.

In addition to my passions for writing and horses, I LOVE to read. I did the math the other day, and I have read over 14,000 books so far in my life! I won an award in 8th grade for reading and handing in over 100 book reports during the school year. I think it was closer to 121. If I wasn't a writer, I think my dream job would be to read the "slush pile" at a publisher or literary agency. Imagine reading all of those wonderful stories and finding a gem among the now electronic stacks of submissions.

I also enjoy gardening, nature, animal care, drawing, music, cooking, baking, going for walks (I was a distance runner for 40 years), and have had a devoted yoga practice since I was quite young--way before yoga became what it is today.​

I would love to give presentations in schools, at conferences, or other venues where I could encourage others to write, to write well, and pursue their dreams.

I love what I do and look forward to writing more stories for your enjoyment.


 
 
This is me the summer before 8th grade with my second pony Moby--a Welsh/Arab mix. He was strong but kind, although he did run away with me a few times through the neighbor's yard.
​​(The picture on my Home Page is of me in 5th grade with my first pony Briggs--a Shetland. We got lucky, he was a sweet and well-mannered pony. My mother bought him, sight-unseen, over the phone from an ad in a local newspaper.)